Llanarth, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanarth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
Llanarth is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.
LLANARTH (LLAN-ARTH), a parish in the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 13 miles(N.W. by W.) from Lampeter, consisting of two divisions, North and South. This parish, which is of considerable extent, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road leading from Cardigan to Aberystwith, and is intersected by the river Llethy, which falls into Cardigan bay at Llanina. The Earl of Richmond, afterwards Henry VII., on the second night after his landing at Milford Haven encamped his forces at Wern Newydd, in this neighbourhood, where he was hospitably entertained by Einon ab Davydd Llwyd, on his route through this county to Bosworth Field. The church, dedicated to St. Vylltyg, is a venerable structure, consisting of a nave and chancel, with a lofty and substantial tower, and is situated on the declivity of a high hill. There are places of worship for Independents, Calvinistic Methodists, and Wesleyans.
For more information see Llanarth at Genuki.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanarth at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 18:48.
- This page has been accessed 321 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More