Llannon, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngLlannon

A guide to genealogy in Llannon, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llannon is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales. The community also contains the villages of Tumble and Cross Hands.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANNON (LLAN-NON), a parish, in the union of LLANELLY, lower division of the hundred of CARNAWLLON, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 miles (N. by E.) from Carmarthen. It extends six miles in length from north to south, and 4 1/2 in breadth from east to west; and comprises by admeasurement, made in the year 1807, 11,466 a. 1 r. 13 p., of which 2507 are in the hamlet of Blaenau, 3011 in that of Glynn, 3130 in that of Goytre, and 2000 in that of Ismorlais. The lands, with the exception of a comparatively small portion, consisting of part of the Great Mountain, the Little Mountain, and Mynydd Sylvan, are mostly inclosed, and in a good state of cultivation; the soil is chiefly a clayey loam, and the principal produce, corn, hay, and butter, for the latter of which it is much celebrated; coal mines are in operation, and the smelting of iron-ore by the use of anthracite coal has lately been commenced. There is here no manor, the parish being situated within the lordship of Kidwelly. The great turnpike-road fpom Swansea to Carmarthen intersects the parish. The tram-road from the works in the Great Mountain is continued through the parish to the port of Llanelly. The church, dedicated to St. Non, was rebuilt in 1841 in the early English style. A National school-house was erected in 1841; and there are four Sunday schools. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llannon see Llannon at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464306.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 January 2014, at 20:13.
  • This page has been accessed 438 times.