Blaenpennal, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanpenal, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBlaenpennal

A guide to genealogy in Blaenpennal, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Blaenpennal is a village in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.



BLAEN-PENAL, a chapelry in the parish of LLANDEWY-BREVI , lower division of the hundred of PENARTH, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 10 1/2 miles (N. by E.) from Lampeter. It is situated at the extremity of the beautiful vale of Aëron which river rises from a mountain near the village, in which and the surrounding district are several pleasing and ornamental residences. The chapel is dedicated to St. David. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For further information see Blaenpennal at Genuki.


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 88-92. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 880 times.