Llanpumsaint, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanpumsaint, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanpumsaint

A guide to genealogy in Llanpumsaint, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanpumsaint is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llanpympsaint can been seen ion some older documents.



LLANPYMPSAINT (LLAN-Y-PUM-SAINT), a parish, in the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 7 miles (N.) from Carmarthen. This parish, the name of which signifies the church of the five saints, is traversed on the east by the turnpike road leading from Carmarthen to Lampeter, and is intersected by the small river Guilly. It was formerly a chapelry in the parish of Aberguilly; from which it was separated by act of parliament; and comprises a large tract of land, by far the greater part inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The surrounding scenery is pleasantly diversified, but not distinguished by any peculiarity of features; and the views of the adjacent country are interesting and extensive. There are three Sunday schools, one belonging to the Established Church, and the others respectively to Baptists and Calvinist Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llanpumsaint see Llanpumsaint at Genuki.


Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 15 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 804 times.