Llansadurnen, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llansadurnen, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlansadurnen

A guide to genealogy in Llansadurnen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llansadurnen (Welsh: Llansadyrnin) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

The redundant spelling of Llansadwrnen can also be seen in some older documents.

Contents

History

LLANSADWRNEN (LLAN-SADYRNIN), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (S.W.) from Laugharne. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the bay of Carmarthen, and is but of small extent; the land is inclosed and in a tolerable state of cultivation. Limestone is found in the rocks near the coast, but the inhabitants are principally employed in agriculture. The surrounding scenery is pleasingly varied; and the views, extending over the bay and the adjacent country, are interesting, and combine some features of a picturesque character. In the limestone rock near the coast is a curious and beautiful cavern of large dimensions, which was formerly a retreat for smugglers.[1]

For more information on Llansadurnen see Llansadurnen at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 695 times.