Llansadwrn, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llansadwrn, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlansadwrn

A guide to genealogy in Llansadwrn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Llansadwrn

Llansadwrn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANSADWRN (LLAN-SADWRN), a parish, in the union of LLANDOVERY, lower division of the hundred of PERVETH, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (N.N.W.) from Llangadock; comprising the Upper and Lower divisions. This parish, which is pleasantly situated in the north-eastern part of the county, is intersected by the turn-pike road from Llandilo-Vawr, by the suspension bridge to Llandovery, and by a small rivulet tributary to the river Towy. It comprises 7064 acres, consisting of a mountainous district of considerable extent, and a large portion of common, which was inclosed in 1809, and with the other lands, is in a good state of cultivation. The church is dedicated to St. Sadwrn. There are seven places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

For more information on Llansadwrn see Llansadwrn at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464312.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 744 times.