Llansadurnen, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llansadurnen, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
The redundant spelling of Llansadwrnen can also be seen in some older documents.
LLANSADWRNEN (LLAN-SADYRNIN), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (S.W.) from Laugharne. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the bay of Carmarthen, and is but of small extent; the land is inclosed and in a tolerable state of cultivation. Limestone is found in the rocks near the coast, but the inhabitants are principally employed in agriculture. The surrounding scenery is pleasingly varied; and the views, extending over the bay and the adjacent country, are interesting, and combine some features of a picturesque character. In the limestone rock near the coast is a curious and beautiful cavern of large dimensions, which was formerly a retreat for smugglers.
For more information on Llansadurnen see Llansadurnen at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llansadurnen at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
- This page has been accessed 975 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News