Llansaintffraed, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
LLANSANTFRAID (LLAN-SANT-FFREAD), a parish, in the hundred of Pencelly, union and county of Brecknock, South Wales, 4 miles (S. E.) from Brecknock. It derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Bridget, or Bride, otherwise called St. Fread, an Irish female saint, who appears to have been so highly venerated in Wales. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Usk, and intersected by the turnpike-road from Brecknock to Crickhowel and Abergavenny. The church was rebuilt in 1690, and consists of two low aisles, with a cupola at the west end, and is situated close to the road side. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Also spelled Llansanffraid, Llansantffraed.LLANSAINTFFRAED, a parish in the hundred of Penkelly, county Brecon, 6 miles S.E. of Brecknock, its post town, and 7 N.W. of Crickhowell. It is situated on the river Usk and the Roman Via Julia Montana. The Brecon canal intersects the parish, which includes the village of Skethiog, formerly a possession of the princes of Powys. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of St. David's, value £295. The church is dedicated to St. Fread, or Fried. For more information, see Llansaintffraed, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464300. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 29 January 2014, at 17:19.
- This page has been accessed 142 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More