Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog, WrexhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog)

WalesGotoarrow.pngWrexhamGotoarrow.pngLlansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog

For other places with similar names see: Llansanffraid

Llansanffraid parish church
Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the rural Ceiriog Valley area of the County Borough of Wrexham in Wales. The village is more commonly known simply as Glyn Ceiriog.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Denbighshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Contents

History

The parish takes it's name from St. Ffraid (English: St. Bridget) and, to distinguish it from other parishes of the same name, its location, Glyn Ceiriog (English: Ceiriog Valley), has been added.

The parish comprises the townships of Llafar Ucha, Llafar Isa, Nantir Ucha and Nantir Isa.

The parish church of St. Ffraid's date back to the 13th century and was at one time a Chapelry of Llangollen. It was rebuilt around 1790.

"LLANSANTFRAID-GYLNN-CERIOG, A parish in the hundred of Chirk, county of Denbigh; 3 miles (S.S.W.) from Llangollen, containing 543 inhabitants. This parish,as the name implies, is situated on the river Ceiriog; the village occupies a low and very retired situation, entirely encompassed by lofty mountains. It contains slate of excellent quality and in abundance, in procuring which some extensive quarries are now being worked with much profit to the proprietors. ..... The manufacture of flannel is carried on to a considerable extent; and on the stream of the Ceiriog are two fulling mills, to which extensive bleaching-grounds are attached. ... The church, dediecated to St. Bridget, has been recently rebuilt in the Grecian style of architecture: it is a handsome edifice with a small square towner, and is situated on an eminence at some distance from the village. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan Methodists." [A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, 1833, Samuel Lewis]

For more information see Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog, Denbighshire at genuki.org.uk

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Denbighshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Wrexham

Records

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1880 Corwen Corwen XXVII (1837-51)
11b (1852-1880)
1880 - 2 Oct 1935 Llangollen Corwen 11b (1852-1935)
2 Oct 1935 - 1974 Llangollen Wrexham 11b (1935-1946)
8A (1946-74)

Church Records

The following Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog Parish Registers have been deposited at the Denbighshire Records Office in Ruthin:

Baptisms: 1768-1898
Marriages: 1754-1970
Burials: 1768-1891

The Clwyd Family History Society have published several volumes of the Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog parish registers.

There are no official records available on the IGI for Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog parish.

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464320.


The parish of Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog formed part of the Corwen Registrar's District.

Year Parts
1841 HO107/1401-13 folios 1-46
1851 HO107/2509 folios 591-615
1861 RG9/4313 folios 41-63
1871 RG10/5684 folios 9-31
1881 RG11/5541 folios 94-115
1891 RG12/4638 folios 87-111
1901 RG13/

Poor Law Union Records

The parish of Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog formed part of the Corwen Union, which was created on 13 December 1836. The workhouse was built at Corwen but not completed until April 1840. The records for the Corwen Union are held at the Meirionydd Record Office in Dolgellau.

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,637 times.