Llansanffraid, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llansantffraid, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLlansanffraid

For other places with similar names see: Llansanffraid

A guide to genealogy in Llansanffraid, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llansanffraid is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANSANTFRAID (LLAN-SANT-FRAID), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 11 miles (S. by W.) from Aberystwith. The village, which is situated on the road from Cardigan to Aberystwith, consists only of a few houses of mean appearance. The parish is noted for its abundant produce of barley. The church, dedicated to St. Bridget, is a commodious edifice, agreeably situated near the shore of Cardigan bay. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information see:Llansanffraid at Genuki

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464302.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 85-98. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 939 times.