Llansawel, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llansawel, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlansawel

A guide to genealogy in Llansawel, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

For other places with a similar name see Llansawel

Llansawel is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANSAWEL (LLAN-SAWEL), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-VAWR, lower division of the hundred of CAYO, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 11 miles (N.) from Llandilo-Vawr, on the road to Lampeter; comprising the hamlets of Edwinsford with Glynn, and Wen with Genol. This parish is pleasantly situated on the small river Cothy, and is intersected by a tributary of that stream, which falls into it near the village; over each is a neat bridge. The lands are for the greater part inclosed and in a state of good cultivation; the surrounding scenery is pleasantly diversified with wood and water. Edwinsford, called in Welsh "Rhyd Odyn," the seat of the family of Williams, whose ancestors have represented the county in parliament for several ages, and now the seat of Sir James Hamlyn Williams, Bart., is in the parish. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For more information on Llansawel see Llansawel at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464308.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 758 times.