Llansilin, Shropshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Llansilin, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Llansilin is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the County of Powys, Wales. The parish lies on the England/Wales border, with the townships of Lledrod and Sychtyn being in England. For the main article see Llansilin, Wales.
|Poor Law Union||Oswestry PLU|
|Parish registers: 1668|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
LLANSILIN, a township, a parish, and a sub-district in Oswestry district; the township and most of the parish electorally in Denbigh, the rest of the parish and the sub-district electorally in Shropshire. The township lies on the river Cynlleth, adjacent to the boundary with Shropshire, 3½ miles W of Offa's dyke, and 6 WSW of Oswestry r. station. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:37.
- This page has been accessed 1,087 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More