Llansteffan, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llansteffan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
The redundant spelling of Llanstephan can be seen on older documents.
LLANSTEPHAN (LLAN-STEPHAN), a parish, in the higher division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 8 miles (S.S.W.) from Carmarthen. The parish comprises by admeasurement 5000 acres, of which 2500 are arable, 2000 pasture, and the rest wood, rocks, and waste. The surrounding scenery is highly pleasing, and in many parts of the parish beautifully picturesque; the views over the fine open bay are interesting and extensive. The appearance of the village is particularly interesting; but, from its retired situation, being distant from any great thoroughfare, it is not much frequented by visitors: it unites all the advantages of a maritime situation with the tranquil retirement of an inland village, and has a greater number of opulent families resident in it than any other in the neighbourhood of Carmarthen. The church, dedicated to St. Stephen, is an ancient structure, with a lofty tower. In the hamlet of Llanybree was formerly a chapel of ease, which, in ancient records, is called the Marble Church, and is now appropriated to the use of a congregation of Independents. There are one or two other places of worship for Independents, and one each for Calvinistic Methodists, Wesleyan Methodists, and Baptists.
For more information on Llansteffan see Llansteffan at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llansteffan at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2016, at 04:07.
- This page has been accessed 1,018 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News