Llanwinio, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanwinio, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanwinio

A guide to genealogy in Llanwinio, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanwinio is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

The community also contains the villages of Cwmbach, Cwmfelinmynach and Blaenwaun.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANWINIO (LLAN-WYNO), a parish, comprising the Eastern and Western divisions, in the lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 13 miles (W.N.W.) from Carmarthen. This parish is situated near the western extremity of the county, on the border of Pembrokeshire, and comprises a large tract of lamd, the greater portion inclosed and cultivated; it is watered by the small river Avon Gynin. The surrounding country is finely diversified, and the distant views comprehend some fine combinations of mountain scenery and richly luxuriant pasture lands in the vicinity; the soil is fertile, and the inhabitants are chiefly employed in agriculture and in the feeding of numerous flocks of sheep. The village is pleasantly situated. The church, dedicated to St. Gwyno, stands near the right bank of the Avon Gynin river; and there are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists, and for another congregation, assuming no other denomination than that of Dissenters. [1]

For more information on Llanwinio see Llanwinio at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464309.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 670 times.