Llanwrda, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngLlanwrda

A guide to genealogy in Llanwrda, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanwrda is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish on the Afon Tywi in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

LLANWRDA (LLAN-WRDA), a parish, comprising the Upper and Lower divisions, in the union of LLANDOVERY, higher division of the hundred of CAYO, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 3½ miles, by the suspension bridge over the river Towy, (W. by S.) from Llandovery. This parish, which is intersected by the turn-pike road from Llandilo to Llandovery and Lampeter, is beautifully situated in a pleasing and retired vale, watered by a fine stream that joins the Towy immediately contiguous, and surrounded by lofty hills richly clothed with wood: it comprises 4441 acres of land, all inclosed. A small manufacture of coarse woollen cloth is carried on within its limits. The church is dedicated to St. Cawrdav. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

For more information on Llanwrda see Llanwrda at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464308.

Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 16:33.
  • This page has been accessed 243 times.