Llanybydder, CarmarthenshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llanybydder, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
The redundant spelling of Llanybyther can be seen in some older documents.
LLANYBYTHER (LLAN-Y-BYDDAR), a parish, in the union of LAMPETER, higher division of the hundred of CATHYNOG, county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 5½ miles (S.W.) from Lampeter; comprising the northern and southern divisions. This place is situated on the road from Lampeter-Pont-Stephen to Carmarthen, and on the border of the county. The parish is extensive, comprising nearly ten thousand acres, of which about two thousand are uninclosed, and containing a great variety of soil and surface. The prevailing kinds of timber are fir and young oak, and the chief agricultural produce oats and barley. The village of Llanybyther is situated on the banks of the river Teivy. The parish also contains the village of Glanduar and that of Abergorlech. The church, dedicated to St. Peter, has recently undergone thorough repair. There is also a chapel at Abergorlech. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one each for Baptists and Methodists.
For more information on Llanybydder see Llanybydder at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llanybydder at Vision of Britain.
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 16:39.
- This page has been accessed 339 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More