Llanllwchaearn, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Llanychaearn, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic Cardiganshire Gotoarrow.pngLlanllwchaearn

A guide to genealogy in Llanllwchaearn, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llanllwchaearn is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The community includes the villages of Maen-y-groes, Cross Inn, Pentre'r Bryn, Llanina and Cydblwyf.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Redundant spelling variants include: Llanllwchairn, Llanychaearn and Llanychaiarn.

Contents

History

LLANLLWCHAIRN (LLAN - LLWCHAIARN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 17 miles (N.W. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish, which is situated on the shore of Cardigan bay, derives its name from the dedication of its church and, from its advantageous maritime position, has risen into some degree of notice, and is rapidly increasing in population and importance. Soles, turbot, and oysters are found in great abundance and of superior quality on this part of the coast, and a herring fishery might be advantageously established here, if an adequate demand existed. The trade of the place has already increased so much as to give rise to the establishment of the small port of New Quay (described under its own head), which has already attained a considerable degree of celebrity, and maintains a regular intercourse with Bristol. The church, dedicated to St. Llwchaiarn is an ancient edifice, consisting of a nave and chancel, which are separated by a pointed arch. There are places of worship for Independents and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

For further information, see Llanllwchaearn at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 75-85. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 931 times.