Llechryd, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Llechryd, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
Llechryd is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Teifi in Ceredigion, Wales.
LLÊCHRHYD (LLÊCHRYD), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (S.E.) from Cardigan. This place is by some historians supposed to have been the scene of a sanguinary engagement which took place between Rhys ab Tewdwr, sovereign of South Wales, and the three sons of Bleddyn ab Cynvyn who, in a previous insurrection, had compelled that sovereign to seek refuge in Ireland. Rhys returning thence, in 1087, with a powerful army to recover possession of his dominions, landed on the neighbouring coast, and was met at a place called Llêchryd by the sons of Bleddyn, who resolved to give him battle. The parish is pleasantly situated on the northern bank of the river Teivy, which is navigable for small vessels to Llêchrhŷd bridge, an ancient structure mantled with ivy, and forming a truly interesting feature in the scenery of the place. The church, dedicated to the Holy Cross, is an ancient edifice. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists and Independents, the latter said to have been originally built by Major Wade, an officer under Oliver Cromwell.
For more information see Llechyrd at Genuki.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Llechryd at Vision of Britain]
- This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 20:11.
- This page has been accessed 216 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More