Lledrod, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lledrod Isaf, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngLledrod

A guide to genealogy in Lledrod, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Lledrod (or, in full, Llanfihangel Lledrod) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. Is comprises of the two townships of Lledrod Isaf and Lledrod Uchaf.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

LLANVIHANGEL-LLEDROD (LLAN-VIHANGEL LLETHR Y TROED), a parish in the Upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 9 miles (S.E.) from Aberystwith, comprising the townships of Lledrod Isâv and Lledrod Uchâv. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Michael, and its distinguishing appellation from its situation at the foot of a declivity on which it is built. It extends for nearly seven miles in length, and three miles in breadth, forming a part of the Lordship of Mevenydd which belongs to the crown, and contains a large tract of land, of which the greater portion is enclosed and cultivated. The church is a plain building consisting of a nave. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, and Baptists.[1]

For more information see Lledrod at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 129-147. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 20:19.
  • This page has been accessed 416 times.