Lledrod, CeredigionEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A guide to genealogy in Lledrod, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
Lledrod (or, in full, Llanfihangel Lledrod) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. Is comprises of the two townships of Lledrod Isaf and Lledrod Uchaf.
LLANVIHANGEL-LLEDROD (LLAN-VIHANGEL LLETHR Y TROED), a parish in the Upper division of the hundred of ILAR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 9 miles (S.E.) from Aberystwith, comprising the townships of Lledrod Isâv and Lledrod Uchâv. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Michael, and its distinguishing appellation from its situation at the foot of a declivity on which it is built. It extends for nearly seven miles in length, and three miles in breadth, forming a part of the Lordship of Mevenydd which belongs to the crown, and contains a large tract of land, of which the greater portion is enclosed and cultivated. The church is a plain building consisting of a nave. There are places of worship for Calvinistic Methodists, and Baptists.
For more information see Lledrod at Genuki
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Lledrod at Vision of Britain
- This page was last modified on 21 January 2014, at 20:19.
- This page has been accessed 366 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More