Logie, Fife, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Fife Gotoarrow.png Logie

Parish #446

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Logie. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

LOGIE, a parish, in the district of Cupar, county of Fife; containing the village of Lucklawhill-Feus, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Cupar. This parish derives its name from the situation of its church in a hollow surrounded by hills, of which that term in the Gaelic language is descriptive. The church, built in 1826, and situated nearly in the centre of the parish, is a neat and substantial edifice adapted for a congregation of about 300 persons. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Logie. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Logie as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year FHL FIlm Numbers Surname Indexes
1841      1042703 book 941.33 X22s; films 1145982-3; CD-ROM no. 1075
1851 1042270 941.33 X22f
1861 0103831 CD-ROM no. 2524
1871 0103994 None
1881 0203528 6086574 (8 fiche)
1891 0208764 None


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1660-1861 1040189 items 3-4
Marriages: 1660-1710 (proclamations) 1040189 items 3-4
Deaths: 1780-1851 (burials) 1040189 items 3-4

Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.

Births: Intermixed with marriages until 1817 and with deaths 1780–1817. After 1817 separate records. Mother's names seldom recorded with entries until December 1799.
Marriages: The marriage often not added to the entries of contract 1793–1817 inclusive.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. FHL British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of he minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1840–1973
Note: Available at St. Andrews University Library, St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, record CH2/767.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

Logie and Gauldry Free Church

History—
The minister of Logie adhered to the Free Church in 1843. A church was built in the village of Logie and opened in January 1844. A manse was erected in 1846. From May 1843 a station was maintained at Gauldry. At Mr. Melville's death the assembly directed the union of Logie and Gauldry in one charge, recommending that a church should be built on a site convenient for both. The proprietor, however, refused a site and the charges remained separate, the churches being three miles apart. The union was affected in 1852. The majority of the people were at Gauldry where a weaver's shop was converted into a church in 1867. It was renovated in 1867and again in 1892. The district never recovered from the extinction of handloom weaving.
Membership: 1848, 109; 1900, 124.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.

Records—
No known pre-1855 records.


Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Logie was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St. Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Fife at Cupar. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of St. Andrews.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Fife. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place' of Fife and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 197-216. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 May 2014.
 

[Return to the Fife parish list.]


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 May 2014, at 17:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,790 times.