Logie-Pert, Angus, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Angus Gotoarrow.png Logie-Pert

Parish #304

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Logie-Pert. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies for Locating Births, Marriages and Deaths|Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

LOGIE-PERT, a parish, in the county of Forfar, 5 miles (N. W.) from Montrose; containing the villages of Craigo, Logie, and Muirside. This parish was formerly called Logie-Montrose; but, upon the annexation to it of the parish of Pert about the year 1610 or 1615, it assumed its present name of Logie-Pert. The word Logie, so frequently used in Scotland, is of Gaelic origin, signifying a "flat or low situation," and is strikingly applicable to the old church of Logie, situated in a hollow or piece of low ground close by the North Esk river. The name of Pert is very old, and of uncertain derivation; but its ancient church, like that of Logie, is still standing, though both have fallen into disuse since the erection of a central church for the accommodation of the united parish in the year 1775. The present church, which is situated in the centre of the parish, was built in 1840, and is a plain substantial structure, capable of accommodating about 700 persons with seats.[1]

The parishes of Logie or Logie-Montrose and Pert were joined about 1610. The population in 1831 was 1360.


The ancient Pert parish, also known as Over Inchbrayock, was erected from the Inchbrayock parish after the Reformation, but was eventually (1610-1615) conjoined to the parish of Logie-Montrose to form Logie-Pert. [Ian B. Cowan: The parishes of Mediaeval Scotland (Scottish Record Society, 93); SRS, Edinburgh, 1967]



The [first or Old], [2nd or New] & [Third] Statistical Accounts of Scotland (pub. 1790s,1834-45, and 1960s) offer uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Logie-Pert, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year FHL Film Number Surname Indexes
1841     1042680 6203961
1851 1042255 none
1861 103792 none
1871 103948 none
1881 203495 6086580 (12 fiche)
1891 208723 none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1717-1854 0991895
Marriages: 1717-1854 0991895
Deaths: 1717-1801 0991875

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: The pages covering the years 1725–1740 were partially destroyed by mice. Mothers' names are not recorded until 1740. Births, marriages and deaths are intermixed up to 1740, and are intermixed with marriages beginning 1801. There is a duplicate of 1723–1730.
Marriages: Marriage record pages covering the years 1725–1740 were partially destroyed by mice. The records are intermixed with births and deaths up to 1740, and also after 1801. There are a few entries of proclamation fees 1775–1800, and they are blank from November 1740 to December 1800, after which the entries again occur among the births. There is a duplicate of portion 1723–1728, much wasted.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues intermixed with births and marriages until 1740. There is a record of Mortcloth Dues which is blank 1740–1770. The record terminates December 1801.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1717–1935, 1952–1982
Accounts 1770–1801, 1825–1923
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/248

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

General Statement:
The New Statistical Account of Scotland, dated January 1835, FHL book 941 B4sa Ser. 2, vol. 11 pt. 2, states that at that time there were ten families in the parish who belonged to Seceding chapels. However, as there were no places of worship for them in Logie-Pert, they would have attended chapels in neighboring parishes. Other churches would have come into being after 1835.

Logie-Pert Free Church

History—
The congregation here was formed immediately after the Disruption, and supply provided. Public worship was held first in a barn, then in a wooden church erected at St. Martin's Den. A permanent church was built in 1844, in which year the charge was sanctioned. A manse purchased at Hillside in 1845 was afterwards enlarged. A school was also erected there. The congregation was greatly indebted for generous help to the Miss Carnegy of Craigs.
Membership: 1848, 308; 1900, 266.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source.

Records—
Session Minutes 1843–1942
Deacons Court Minutes 1844–1942
Cash Book, 1844–1856
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH3/443

Episcopalians

The New Statistical Account of Scotland dated January 1835 FHL book 941 B4sa Ser. 2, vol. 11 pt. 2, states that at that time there were five Episcopalian families in the parish. However, as there was no chapel for them in Logie-Pert, they would have traveled to a chapel in a neighboring parish, such as Montrose.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Logie-Pert was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of St.Andrews until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dundee. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of St.Andrews.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Angus. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Angus and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
 Read out Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 5 June 2014.

Return to Angus parish list.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,742 times.