Logie Coldstone, Aberdeenshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Aberdeenshire Gotoarrow.png Logie Coldstone

Parish #217 (Logiecoldstone)

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Logie Coldstone. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.



LOGIE-COLDSTONE, a parish, in the district of Kincardine O'Neil, county of Aberdeen, 9 miles (W.) from Kincardine. This place comprises the ancient parishes of Logie and Coldstone, united in 1618, and of which the former derives its name from a Gaelic term signifying a "hollow" or "low situation," which is faithfully descriptive of its character. Of the name Coldstone, formerly Colstane, the derivation is altogether uncertain. The parish occupies a district between the rivers Don and Dee. The church, rebuilt in 1780, is a neat plain structure, and well adapted to the accommodation of the parishioners.[1]

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Logie Coldstone as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
6086502 (12 fiche)

The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1716-1719 0993339

1749-1854 0993339
Marriages: 1716-1718 0993339

1779-1854 0993339
Deaths: No entries none


Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Records are blank February 1720–October 1748, except one entry for 1747, between 1789 and 1790. There are three pages of irregular entries 1756–1825. Mothers’ names not recorded until 1787.
Marriages: Records are blank November 1719–September 1748, after which date the record is mixed up with other matters, except 1783–1788. At August 1793, there are five leaves of entries of marriages, October 1783–September 1798.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

There are no known surviving Records.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

Cromar, Braes of Cromar, and Coldstone Free Church

Immediately after the Disruption a congregation was formed here of the Free Church adherents in the “Braes of Cromar” and the parish of Logie-Coldstone. Services were at first held in a barn. Church and manse were erected in 1843–1844. Donald Stewart, minister of the parish of Glengairn, in which lie the “Braes of Cromar,” “came out” at the Disruption. He was called by the new congregation and as it was part of that he had previously ministered to, he was settled, but not inducted. The congregation suffered from rural depopulation.
Membership: 1848, 125; 1900, 102.

Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

No known surviving Records.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Logie Coldstone was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog  for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog
 for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2014.

Return to Aberdeenshire parish list.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2015, at 00:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,321 times.