Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Londonthorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

LONDONTHORPE, a village and a parish in Grantham district, Lincoln. The village stands near Erminestreet, 3 miles NE of Grantham. The living is a p. curacy, annexed to the vicarage of Manthorpe, in the diocese of Lincoln. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Grantham registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs To The Past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs To The Past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438768.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Londonthorpe is in the Poor Law Union of Grantham, Lincolnshire.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Londonthorpe/

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 04 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,195 times.