Long Bredy, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Long Bredy, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Long Bredy, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Bredy, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eggerton
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester PLU
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BREDY (Long), a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; on the downs, near the source of the Bredy stream, 4¾ miles SW of Grimstone and Frampton railroad station, and 8 W of Dorchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Long Bredy, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1620
1620
1620
Images
1620-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1919 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1732-1880 Ancestry[6] 1732-1837 Joiner[7]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  7. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 March 2015, at 15:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.