Long Marston, Gloucestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Long Marston, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Long Marston, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Stratford on Avon PLU|
|Registration District||Stratford on Avon|
|Parish registers: 1680|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
MARSTON-SICCA, or LONG MARSTON, a village and a parish in the district of Stratford-on-Avon and county of Gloucester. The village stands on an affluent of the river Avon, adjacent to the Honeybourne and Stratford railway, within 2 miles of the boundaries with Warwick and Worcester, 5½ miles SW of Stratford-on-Avon; consists of two parts, called respectively Marston-Sicca and Long MarSton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Long Marston, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Long Marston, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288772.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 18:21.
- This page has been accessed 1,150 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News