Long Stanton, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Long Stanton, Cambridgeshire)


England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Long Stanton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Long Stanton consisted historically of two parishes:

  • All Saints
  • St Michael
Long Stanton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton PLU
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chesterton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANTON, LONG (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Northstow, county of Cambridge, 5½ miles (N. W. by N.) from Cambridge.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Long Stanton St. Michael, 1559-1916 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Long Stanton St. Michael, 1598-1876 at FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241224.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Long Stanton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 186-192. Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.

Return to the Cambridgeshire page.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,183 times.