Longburton, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Longburton, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Longburton, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longburton, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Sherborne
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office


Parish History

LONGBURTON, a parish, with a village, in Sherborne district, Dorset; 2½ miles S by E of Sherlborne railroad station. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Longburton, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
1580-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1889 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1539-1837 Joiner[6]
1790-1812 Ancestry[7]

Longburton, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Longburton, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1590-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales], publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2015, at 16:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,706 times.