Longford, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Longford, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Longford, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Longford, Derbyshire
Longford St Chad Derbyshire.jpg
Longford St Chad Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne PLU
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cubley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Longford St Chad is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Hollington, Hungry Bentley, Longford with Nether Thurvaston, and Rodsley.

LONGFORD (St. Chad), a parish, in the hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby with the townships of Alkmonton and Hollington, the liberty of Hungry-Bentley, and the hamlet of Rodsley. A chapel of ease was lately built at Alkmonton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Longford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Longford St Chad (1538) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
1539-1837
  NONE
1813-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Longford on GENUKI

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 170-172. Date accessed: 10 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,204 times.