Longsight, St Clements,(Manchester) LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

History


Longsight St Clement, Dillon Street was createded in 1871 as an Ecclesisatical parish from Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish. The church closed in 1974.

Previously known as Grindlow Marsh, Longsight was incorporated into the City of Manchester in 1890. The district is bordered by Ardwick to the north, Rusholme to the west, Levenshulme to the south, and Gorton to the east. Longsight is currently defined by Hyde Road, Grey Street, Stockport Road, Plymouth Grove, Richmond Grove, Hathersage Road, Anson Road, Dickenson Road, Beresford Road, Old Hall Lane, Stockport Road, East Road, Pink Bank Lane, Nutsford Vale, Buckley Road and Mount Road. The Old Roman Road to Buxton (the A6 or Stockport Road) roughly bisects the area.

The area of Longsight contains many of the notable buildings of Victoria Park. Daisy Bank Road is a particularly good example, featuring Edgar Wood's Grade I listed First Church of Christ, Scientist and the Edwardian art nouveau Chadlington House, as well as the residences of Charles Hallé and Emmeline Pankhurst. Pankhurst's family house is also situated on the edge of Longsight at Plymouth Grove.

Larger Victorian period properties are predominantly clustered around the leafy western parts of Longsight, an area informally known as Westpoint. Some Victorian villas can also be found overlooking Crowcroft park in the most southern part of Longsight.
3 Addison Terrace, on the north side of Daisy Bank Road, Victoria Park, was the home of Charles Hallé, the founder of the Hallé Orchestra, in 1848. The pre-raphaelite artist Ford Madox Brown lived at the same address from 1883 to 1887.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers for St. Clement's, Longsight, 1871-1952 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Loongsight is a chapelry in Manchester parish.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M 352/3/1/1-6, M 352/3/2/1-6.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1871-1939. Marriages, 1876-April 1896.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357501
Marriages, March 1896-1952.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357975 Items 1 - 5


Longsight- St Clement
Baptisms-1871-1907- MFPR 1502
Baptisms-1907-1969- MFPR 1503
Marriages-1876-1896- MFPR 1504
Marriages-1896-1915- MFPR 1504 or MFPR 2154
Marriages-1915-1952- MFPR 1505 or MFPR 2154
Marriages-1952-1969- MFPR 1505

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,105 times.