Lonmay, Aberdeenshire, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Parish #219

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Lonmay. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Lonmay as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042658
none
1851
1042119
none
1861
103782
none
1871
103933
none
1881
203460
6086502 (12 fiche)
1891
208682
none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type
Years Covered
FHL Film Number
Births:
1687-1854
0993429
Marriages:
1687-1773
0993429

1776-1777
0993429

1788-1854
0993429
Deaths:
1716-1721
0993429

1792
0993429


 Condition of Original Registers—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: Early portion has suffered much from dampness. There are irregular entries throughout and mothers’ names not recorded. Marriages: There are no entries for 1759 and 1776. Records are blank February 1773–August 1776, August 1777–July 1788 and August 1780–April 1783, except one entry. There is only one entry February 1812–February 1813.
Deaths: Mortcloth Dues are recorded 1716–1721, and burials for 1792, two leaves.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Monumental Inscriptions: FHL Book 941.25/L2 V3s.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Discipline Minutes 1709–1756, 1831–1866
Minutes and Accounts 1757–1766, 1784–1809
Heriters’ Minutes 1803, 1820–1861
Ledger 1809–1865
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/251.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

Lonmay Episcopal Church

History—
This congregation was established soon after the Revolution. The chapel was erected by the congregation in 1797. Membership at that time was 311. In 1843 it was about 500 with about 300 coming from neighboring parishes.
Source: History of the Scottish Episcopal Church, by John P. Lawson, pub. 1843. No copy is available in the FHL.

Records—
FHL Film Number
Christenings 1727–1768, 1802–1854 0823635 item 2 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol.1
1855–1929 0908173 item 5 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol. 2
Marriages 1727–1732, 1826–1854 0823635 item 2 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol.1
1855–1929 0909183 item 5 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol 2
Burials 1826–1854 0823635 item 2 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol.1
1855–1929 098173 item 5 X
941.25/L2 V26m vol 2

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Lonmay was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Aberdeen until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Aberdeen. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk . You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Aberdeen.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Aberdeen. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Aberdeen and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.


Return to Aberdeenshire parish list


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 August 2011, at 18:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,871 times.