Loughborough Emmanuel, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Loughborough, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Loughborough Emmanuel is an Ecclesiastical Parish, created in 1838 from Loughborough, Leicestershire Ancient Parish.

There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Unitarians; and Roman Catholics.[1]

In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Loughborough like this: Loughborough, market town, par., and township, Leicestershire, on Loughborough Canal, 10½ miles NW. of Leicester and 115 miles from London by rail .

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Loughborough Emmanuel Bap 1838 - 1975 Marr 1839 – 1985 (Banns to1943) Bur 1838 - 1886;1902; 1908; 1921


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438745.

a

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 175-179. Date accessed: 10 September 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 981 times.