Loughton, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Loughton

Loughton, Essex
All Saints - Loughton Essex.jpg
All Saints - Loughton Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ongar
County Essex
Poor Law Union Epping PLU
Registration District Epping
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Epping
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Loughton, is a village and a parish in Epping district, Essex. The village is on the E side of Epping forest, and on the Stratford and Ongar railway, 1 mile W of the river Roding, and 4 miles SSW of Epping: it has a railway station, and a post office under London NE. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Loughton, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
LOUGHTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS
1675-1837

Online Loughton, Essex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1780-1837 Ancestry[3]


Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.


Poor Law Unions

Epping Poor Law Union, Essex


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed 19 May 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,689 times.