Louisiana Civil War Union Colored TroopsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Military Gotoarrow.png LouisianaGotoarrow.png Louisiana Military Gotoarrow.png Louisiana in the Civil War Gotoarrow.png Louisiana Civil War Union Colored Troops

Guide to Louisiana Civil War Union Colored Troops ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

The information in the lists of Louisiana Military Units comes from the Civil War Soldiers and Sailors web site. That web site also can be searched by the name of a soldier.

  • 8th Regiment, Louisiana Infantry, African Descent.
    Organized March 11, 1864 Became 47th Regiment, United States Colored Infantry Attached to 2nd Brigade, 1st Division, U.S. Colored Troops, District of Vicksburg, Mississippi October, 1864. Mustered out January 5, 1866.
  • 10th Regiment, Louisiana Infantry, African Descent
    Organized March 11, 1864 Attached to 1st Colored Brigade, District of Vicksburg, Mississippi, to April, 1864 Designated 48th Regiment, United States Colored Infantry.
    Mustered out March 27, 1866
  • 11th Regiment, Louisiana Infantry (African Descent)
    Organized March 11, 1864 Attached to 1st Colored Brigade, District of Vicksburg, Mississippi, to April, 1864. Designated 49th Regiment, United States Colored Troops.
    Mustered out March 20, 1866.
  • 12th Regiment, Louisiana Infantry (African Descent)
    Designated 50th Regiment, United States Colored Troops.
    Organized March 11, 1864 Attached to Post of Goodrich Landing, District of Vicksburg. Mississippi to December, 1864 Mustered out June 16, 1866
  • Louisiana Native Guards,
    Designated 6th and 7th Regiments Louisiana Infantry (Colored) (sixty days).
  • Louisiana Native Guards, 1st Regiment Heavy Artillery (African Descent), Companies A and B.
    Designated 1st Regiment Louisiana Heavy Artillery (African Descent) (Companies A and B), afterward 1st Regiment Heavy Artillery, Corps d'Afrique (Companies A and B), afterward 7th Regiment, United States Colored Artillery (Heavy) (Companies A and B), afterward 10th Regiment United States Colored Artillery (Heavy) (Companies A and B).


References


Amann, William Frayne. Personnel of the Civil War. Volume 2: The Union Armies. New York., NY C 1964 FHL Collection WorldCat http://www.worldcat.org/title/personnel-of-the-civil-war/oclc/612485509


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 February 2015, at 01:07.
  • This page has been accessed 568 times.