Lound, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lound, Suffolk)
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes 
Lound, Suffolk
Lound Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1696
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LOUND (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from Lowestoft.[1]

Lound St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and the county of Suffolk.

It is noted for both its medieval font and 20th century interior decoration. 

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Lound and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Lound is in Mutford District. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Lound, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Lound, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1698-1768

FS PRs Undefined 1696-1902 Undefined 1696-1929 Undefined 1696-1924
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1695-1900

The Parish Registers begin in ????.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from ???? to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Lothington Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.


Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Lound was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 179-182. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

England Jurisdictions 1851

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 04:43.
  • This page has been accessed 2,172 times.