Low Marple St Martin,CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Low Marple St Martin

Contents

Parish History

Low Marple St Martin was created as an ecclesiatical parish from 1870 serving part of Marple.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Martin's Church, Low Marple, 1870-1967 Cheshire Record Office reference P256

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Parish registers BRITISH 1656403 Item 9

Bishop's transcripts for St. Martin's Church, Low Marple, 1870-1892

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online in Record Search

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1872-1877, 1879-1885, 1887-1890, 1892. Baptisms, 1870-1872, 1877, 1886. BRITISH 1647519 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:05.
  • This page has been accessed 680 times.