Lower Canada Census 1825 (FamilySearch Historical Records)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes a collection of historical records available at FamilySearch.org.|
Access the records: Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825 .
Title in the Language of the Record
Canada, recensement du Bas-Canada
|You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825.|
This collection will include records for 1825.
These records include indexes and images of census records for the modern province of Quebec.
Census records can provide family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, religion, and place of birth. Generally, more recent censuses are more complete. They can provide information missing in other records.
For a list of records by localities currently published in this collection, select the Browse.
Census records usually contain the following information:
- Names of heads of families
- Total number of persons living in family
- Number belonging to each family absent from province
- Number in family age six (6) years, but less than fourteen (14) years
- Number in family over fourteen (14) years, but less than eighteen (18) years
- Number of married males or females married in family
- Ages of married persons, male and female
How to Use the Record
To begin your search, it would be helpful if you knew the following information:
- Name of ancestor
- Number of family members
- Approximate year and place of residence
Search the Collection
To search the collection by index:
Fill in the requested information in the initial search page. This search will return a list of possible matches. Compare the information about the ancestors in the list to what you already know about your ancestors.
To search the collection by image, select "Browse through images" on the initial collection page. Then:
⇒Select the appropriate “County/District”
⇒Select the appropriate “Locality/Sub-district,” which will take you to the images.
You may need to look at several images and compare the information about the individuals listed in those images to your ancestors to make this determination.
General Information About These Records
A census is a count and description of the population. Censuses have been taken by the colonial, provincial, and national governments of Canada for a variety of reasons, including taxation and levying for militia service. Census records can also provide information about family relationships, age, year of birth, description of property, religion, and place of birth.
|FHL Place Canada, Quebec items or FHL Keyword Canada, Quebec items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Canada Archives and Libraries.|
Known Issues with This Collection
For a full list of all known issues associated with this collection see the attached Wiki article. If you encounter additional problems, please email them to email@example.com. Please include the full path to the link and a description of the problem in your e-mail. Your assistance will help ensure that future reworks will be considered.
Related Wiki Articles
How You Can Contribute
| We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records. |
Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.
Citations for This Collection
When you copy information from a record, you should list where you found the information; that is, cite your sources. This will help people find the record again and evaluate the reliability of the source. It is also good to keep track of records where you did not find information, including the names of the people you looked for in the records. Citations are available for the collection as a whole and each record or image individually.
- "Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825" Index and Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2015. Citing Library and Archives. Public Archives, Ottawa, Ontario.
Record Citation (or citation for the index entry):
|The citation for a record is available with each record in this collection, at the bottom of the record screen. You can search records in this collection by visiting the search page for Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825.|
|The citation for an image is available on each image in this collection by clicking Show Citation at the bottom left of the image screen. You can browse through images in this collection by visiting the browse page for Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825.|
- This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 18:34.
- This page has been accessed 10,071 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News