Lowndes County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lowndes County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Lowndes County

Guide to Lowndes County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Lowndes County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Lowndes County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 23, 1825
County Seat Valdosta
Address Lowndes County Courthouse
325 W Savannah Avenue
PO Box 1349
Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone: 229.333.5127
Lowndes County Website


County Courthouse

Lowndes County, Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Lowndes County Courthouse
325 W Savannah Avenue
PO Box 1349
Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone: 229.333.5127

Probate Court has marriage and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1858.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
108 E. Central Ave.
P.O. Box 1349 (31603)
Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone: (229) 333-5126
Fax: (229) 333-7637

Probate Court of Lowndes County
327 North Ashley Street
Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone: (229) 671-2650

Beginning Dates for Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1825--Lowndes County was created 23 Dec 1825 from Irwin County.
County seat: Franklinville was county seat until 1837, when Valdosta became the county seat. Valdosta was originally named Troupville. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1858 and 1870. The courthouse at Troupville burned 23 June 1858. Deeds and Superior Court records were destroyed.[3]

Some probate books survived.[3]

The Ordinary's Office (that is, probate) and all the county's ordinary records in Valadosta were destroyed by fire sometime in November 1870, probably 10 November, when ten offices and buildings were burned.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Berrien County  • Brooks County  • Cook County  • Echols County  • Hamilton County  • Lanier County  • Madison County

Lowndes CountyLanier CountyBerrien CountyCook CountyTift CountyWorth CountyColquitt CountyMitchell CountyGrady CountyThomas CountyBrooks CountyEchols CountyClinch CountyAtkinson CountyBrantley CountyCharlton CountyWare CountyHamilton CountyMadison CountyJefferson CountyWakulla CountyLeon CountyTaylor CountyLafayette CountySuwannee CountyColumbia CountyBaker CountyUnion CountyGALowndes.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • History of Lowndes County, Georgia, 1825-1941. Valdosta, Ga.: General James Jackson Chapter, D.A.R., 1942?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).




Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 12th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I

- 26th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 29th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and D
- 50th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Tiller's Company, Georgia Light Artillery (Echols Light Artillery) (Confederate)
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project (other wars' information also given)

  • Daughters of the American Revolution. 1978. History of Lowndes County, Georgia, 1825-1941: with new index. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Co. (page 128-149) 975.8864 H2d
  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Lowndes County). 1967. Confederate pension roll, 1910-1928. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 550586



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lowndes County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
  • 1870-1890 - Lowndes County Marriage Books A and B Index 1870-1890. Batch M713231 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1891-1895 - Lowndes County Marriage Books C and D Index 1891-1895. Batch M713232 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Lowndes County Historical Society
PO Box 56
Valdosta, GA 31603-0056, (229) 247-4780
We are open to the public 6 days a week,
Monday through Friday 10am-5pm
Saturday 10am-2pm.

Lake Park Area Historical Society,
PO Box 803
Lake Park, GA 31636-0803; (229) 559-5771.

Hahira Historical Society,
202 E. Lawson Street,
Hahira, GA 31632; (912) 794-2274

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lowndes County, Georgia. Page 158 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 39-41. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 November 2015, at 03:14.
  • This page has been accessed 12,917 times.