Loxwood, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Loxwood, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Petworth PLU|
|Parish registers: None; For records see Wisborough Green|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
LOXWOOD-END, a hamlet, in the parish of Wisborough-Green, union of Petworth, partly in the hundred of Rotherbridge, but chiefly in that of Bury rape of Arundel, W. division of the county of Sussex, 9½ miles (W. by N.) from Horsham.
Loxwood St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish in the Chichester District of West Sussex originally formed from. Wisborough Green, Sussex Ancient Parish. Some gazetteer entries refere to Loxwood-End (A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 182-186). for example
A church history is available Loxey St John the Baptist
See also Loxwood Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
See alsoPetworth Registration District For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2015, at 17:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,811 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News