Lucas County, Iowa GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lucas County, Iowa)

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Lucas County

Guide to Lucas County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Lucas County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Lucas County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 13, 1846
County Seat Chariton
Courthouse

Contents

County Information

Lucas County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1849 1880 1840 1849 1850

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1846--Lucas County was created 13 January 1846 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Monroe County prior to organization 4 July 1849. County seat:  Chariton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Lucas County was five townships wide from east to west when it was created, but in 1847 it shrank to four townships across. The western border shifted six miles east to its present position, while the other borders were unchanged (and so they are today)

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Appanoose • Clarke • Decatur • Marion • Monroe • Warren • Wayne

Lucas CountyMonroe CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyDecatur CountyClarke CountyWarren CountyMarion CountyMahaska CountyWapello CountyDavis CountyRinggold CountyUnion CountyMadison CountyDallas CountyPolk CountyJasper CountyPoweshiek CountySchuyler CountyPutnam CountyMercer CountyHarrison CountySullivan CountyAdair CountyIALucas.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


The History of Lucas County, Iowa: containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, etc (1881) is available free online from Google Books.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy:


- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company H
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K
:- 6th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company B

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Lucas - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Lucas County Genealogical Society
c/o Chariton Public Library
803 Braden Avenue
Chariton, IA 50049-1742
Telephone:641-774-5514
E-mail: lucasgene@hotmail.com
Website

Lucas County Historical Society
123 N. 17th St
P.O. Box 807
Chariton, IA 50049
Telephone:641-774-4464
E-mail: lchs@iowatelecom.net
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "lucas county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "lucas county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "lucas county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Lucas County, Iowa Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Lucas County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Lucas County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 October 2015, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 7,922 times.