Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leightonstone; Polebrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635; Separate registers exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1574
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701; Separate records exist for Hemington (Northamptonshire) beginning 1702
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUDDINGTON-in-the-Brook (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Oundle, partly in the hundred of Leightonstone, county of Huntingdon, but chiefly in that of Polebrook, N. division of the county of Northampton, 6 miles (S. E. by E.) from Oundle.[1]

Additional information:

This parish is partly in Huntingdonshire and Northamptonshire with the majority of this parish being in Northamptonshire. Oringally these were two separate ancient parishes that were joined in 1849. It is also known as "Luddington in the Brook" according to Youngs "Guide to Local Administrative Units of England".

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Luddington with Hemington, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1814-1875 1814-1875
FREG 1574-1783 1575-1753 1561-1783

Hemington, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hemington Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1881 1813-1881

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438880.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,, Samuel A,. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 December 2013.
  2. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 17:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,229 times.