Lumley Christ Church, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lumley Christ Church, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Lumley Christ Church, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester; Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Chester le Street PLU
Registration District Chester le Street; Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1862
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LUMLEY, GREAT, a township, in the parish and union of Chester-le-Street, N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 1½ mile (S. S. E.) from Chester-le-Street. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

The parish of Christ Church Lumley was formed from a chapelry witihin the ancient parish of Chester le Street and dates from 1862. It includes both Great and Little Lumley.

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 2/175 1863-1867 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. The Durham university Library record the transcripts as 1861 erroneously since the first entry for the parish in the collection is for 1863. 

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1858-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Lu).

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyans

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241354.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web Sites

Lumley Christ Church (see Chester le Street) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 190-194. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,239 times.