Lyme Regis, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lyme Regis, Dorset)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Lyme Regis, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lyme Regis, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lyme Regis Borough
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Axminster PLU
Registration District Axminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1543
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Lyme Regis and Halstock
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Lyme Regis, mun. bor., seaport, and parish, Dorset, 5½ miles SE. of Axminster and 23 miles W. of Dorchester - parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Lyme Regis, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1540
1540
1540
Images
1540-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1959 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1726-1843 findmypast[6] 1653-1753 OnlineParishClerks 1612-1847 findmypast[7]
1653-1812 Joiner[8] 1813-1837 findmypast[9]
1653-1750 findmypast[10]
1653-1812 TheGenealogist[11]
1653-1812 FreeREG[12]
1653-1812 FamilyRelatives[13]
1653-1837 findmypast[14]
1790-1812 Ancestry[15]


Lyme Regis, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[16]
Lyme Regis, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1653-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241343.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 08 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 24 June 2012.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 24 June 2012.
  8. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  9. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 24 June 2012.
  10. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 24 June 2012.
  11. Parish Records Transcripts, The Genealogist, accessed 24 June 2012.
  12. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 24 June 2012.
  13. 'Dorset Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com', FamilyRelatives.com, accessed 24 June 2012.
  14. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 24 June 2012.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 March 2015, at 15:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,424 times.