Lyneham, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lyneham, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Lyneham, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lyneham, Oxfordshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chadlington
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Chipping Norton PLU
Registration District Chipping Norton
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Shipton-under-Wychwood
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chipping Norton
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LYNEHAM, a chapelry, in the parish of Shiptonunder-Whichwood, union of Chipping-Norton, hundred of Chadlington, county of Oxford, 6 miles (N.N. E.) from Burford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 198-203. Date accessed: 19 September 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 788 times.