Lyngen, Troms, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Lyngen, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTroms County Gotoarrow.pngLyngen

Guide to Lyngen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Lyngen clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Lyngen, Kåfjord, Storfjord and Sørfjord. The records begin in 1756. For the years 1861 to 1871 for Sørfjord parish see Karlsøy clerical district.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Tromsø fogderi - 1763 tax records for Skjervøy, Lyngen, Tromsø, and Karlsøy parishes in Tromsø tax district, Troms, Norway, can be found on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City in Utah.
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge, 1 Jan 1891 - The 1891 Census for Lyngen Clerical District includes Lyngen, Sørfjord, Kåfjord and Storfjord is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books

  • Lyngen bygdebok by Emil Larssen. A history of Lyngen in Troms county in two volumes. V. 1 is a history of Lyngen clerical district while v. 2 is a history of the farms. A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.452-L1 H2l v2 - LYNGEN-2.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

98 Aarøbugten, 104 Aarøen, 13 Bakkejorden, 18 Bakkemoen, 47 Bentsjorden, 51 Berg, 11 Bjørkli, 32 Dalen, 69 Dalen, 1 Djupvik, 99 Drabeng, 95 Einarvik, 48 Elsnes, 78 Elvebakken, 97 Elvejorden, 62 Elvevolden, 100 Fastdalen, 72 Flatvolden, 71 Forhavn, 39 Gjeitan, 14 Grundvaag, 26 Haakjerringberge, 2 Hammervik, 52 Hatten, 67 Havnvik, 52 Helleren, 24 Holmen, 49 Horsnes, 44 Huggenhul, 27 Isfjeld, 19 Kaafjordbotn, 25 Kaafjorddalen, 21 Kaafjordelven, 94 Kalfaret, 82 Karnes indre, 83 Kilapladsen, 58 Kileng, 52 Kirkenes, 53 Kitdalen, 33 Kjerringdalen, 88 Kobbenes, 101 Koppangen, 10 Kroken, 42 Kvalberget, 75 Kvalvik, 76 Kvalvikgruben, 95 Kviteberg, 70 Lanes, 12 Langnes, 38 Lien, 4 Lyngmoen, 85 Lyngseidet, 29 Løkvolden, 30 Mandalen, 79 Mellemjorden, 92 Mortensnes, 57 Mælen, 5 Nordmandvik indre, 39 Nordnes, 20 Nyvolden, 37 Odden, 15 Oksenes, 81 Oksevik, 7 Olderdalen, 43 Olderelven, 55 Oterodden, 84 Parakjorden, 17 Pertengen, 73 Pollen, 66 Rastebynes, 80 Rastejorden, 103 Reindalen, 93 Rottenvik, 40 Rævdalen, 41 Røikenes, 87 Rørnes, 36 Samuelsberg, 35 Sandmælen, 71 Sandvik, 61 Sandøren, 65 Selnes, 28 Skarvdalen, 22 Skatvolden, 46 Skibotn, 96 Skindelven, 63 Skrevolden, 50 Sletnes, 86 Sollien, 64 Storeng, 9 Storsletten, 91 Storsteinnes, 31 Storvolden, 102 Strupen, 59 Stubbeng, 8 Suleng, 16 Troldvik, 56 Tverdalen, 90 Tytebærvik, 89 Uren, 34 Vandet, 7 Vinterdalen, 77 Volden, 6 Ysteby, 74 Ørnes


Lyngen Bygdebok:

Historical Society

Lyngen Historielag

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2015, at 17:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,492 times.