Lynsted, KentEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Lynsted, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
LINSTEAD, a village and a parish in Faversham district, Kent. The village stands 1½ mile SSW of Teynham r. station, and 3 SE of Sittingbourne; and has a pillar letter-box under Sittingbourne. The parish contains also the village of Green-street, which has a postoffice under Sittingbourne. 
Lynsted is a village in the civil parish of Lynsted with Kingsdown in the Swale District of Kent between Faversham and Siitingbourne, see Lynsted Wikipedia
Lynsted with Kingsdown St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish which includes Green-Street in the Diocese of Canterbury; the parish is part of the Teynham with Lynsted and Kingsdown benefice.
The church of St Peter and St Paul, The Street, Lynsted dates from an ancient chapelry in Teynham, Kent Ancient Parish which was rebuilt in 14th century but retaining parts of the chapelry from the 13th century. The church is designated a Grade 1 listed building by English Heritage British listed building.
In some record sources the spelling Linsted or Lynsted may be found.
Kent County Council
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Lynsted, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Lynsted, Kent Parish Online Records|
|FMP||1653-1904||1653-1904||1754-1906 (Banns)||1754-1906 (Banns)||1654-1903||1654-1903|
International Genealogical Index Lodge Roman Catholic Christenings 1775-1778 Batch (C133021)
Images for Linstead are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
 to locate local Family History Centres in UK
 to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Find my Past 1911 census search
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ 1870-72, John Marius Wilson'sImperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
- ↑ 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 2 January 2014, at 17:10.
- This page has been accessed 1,160 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More