Lyon County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Lyon County Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Lyon County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Lyon County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 25, 1861
County Seat Yerington
Courthouse
Address Lyon County Courthouse
27 S Main Street
PO Box 816
Yerington, NV 89447
Phone: 775.577.5043
Lyon County Website

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1887*
1861*
1887*
1862
1867
1867
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

  • US Vol. 5 page 273 - Old Fort Churchill Cemetery (7 miles south of Silver Springs)
  • Pictures of tombstones in the Dayton Cemetery

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Lyon County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the Family History Library Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lyon – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Lyon County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:

  • Walker River-Sonora Road 1852-1854 from the Carson Trail south to the Walker River along the base of the Sierra Nevada until it ascends to Sonora Pass and then down to Strawberry and Sonora, California

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lyon County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Lyon County Courthouse
27 S Main Street
PO Box 816;
Yerington, NV 89447
Phone: 775.577.5043

County Recorder has marriage and land records from 1862.
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1890. [5]

Family History Centers

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries
  • Dayton Valley Branch Library
    321 Dayton Valley Rd
    Dayton, NV 89403
    Telephone 775-246-6212
  • Smith Valley Public Library
    20 Day Ln
    Wellington, NV 89444
    Telephone 775-465-2369
  • Central Library
    20 Nevin Way
    Yerington, NV 89447
    Telephone 775-463-6645
Museums
Societies
  • Wellington Historical Society
    P. O. Box 36
    Wellington, NV 89444

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth
Marriage

Over 447 marriages from 3 Jan 1862 to 23 Nov 1887 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.

Death

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • Family History Library Catalog

Places

Argo Dayton Mound House Smith Wabuska
Carson Rapids City Fernley Nordyke Stagecoach Weed Heights
Churchill Fort Churchill Pine Grove Sulfur Wellington
Como Greenville Silver City Sutro Yerington
Darwin Lux Silver Springs Talapoosa
Davis Station Mason Simpson

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lyon County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 March 2014, at 04:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,878 times.