Lytham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Lytham, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Lytham, St Cuthbert Lancashire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

LYTHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, and a fashionable bathing-place, in the union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 13 miles (W. by S.) from Preston. A Methodist meetinghouse has been recently built, and in the village is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Important Online indexes of millions of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths are now available at Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Lytham St Cuthbert's parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the web sites below and for the following ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
LYTHAM ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1678) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1678-1900 1679-1900 1679-1900
LOPC 1813-1900 1754-1900 1876-1900
FMP  None 1679-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1975  None 
AC 1679-1761 1679-1761 1679-1761
LYTHAM ST ANNE'S ON THE SEA Chapelry (1873) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1873-1894 None None
LOPC 1873-1900 1877-1900 None
LYTHAM ST JOHN THE DIVINE Chapelry (1849) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1849-1900 1840-1900  None
LOPC 1849-1900 1851-1900 1851-1900
LBMD None 1851-1989 None

Original Records

Lytham church registers may be accessed at the Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, PR1 2RE, UK.

Also, microfilmed copies of original parish registers, Bishop’s transcripts, Nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records, are available via FamilySearch's Family History Library,Salt Lake City, Utah, USA or through one of its 4,600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306887.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 203-208. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,303 times.