Mönchaltorf parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Mönchaltorf parish

Guide to Mönchaltorf parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Mönchaltorf

Aeusserer Brand
Au
Binz
Breitacker
Brunnacker
Buchholz
Eichhof
Feldhof
Giebel
Halde
Hänsler
Heidihof

Heugarten
Heusberg
Hohfuhr
Hubstock
Kilchli
Lindenmatt
Lindhof
Mattenhof
Mönchaltorf
Mühlebach
Neumühle
Oberer Brand

Obere Burg
Platte
Rietwies
Schwerzi
Seehof
Stockrüti
Tobel
Unterer Brand
Untere Burg
Waldau
Weid
Wühre

Surrounding Parishes

Egg
Gossau
Maur
Seegräben
Uster
Wetzikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Mönchaltorf:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 445
1637 1185142 1 357
1640 1185144 2 285
1643 1185146 2 129
1646 1185148 1 387
1649 1185149 1 847
1663 1185179 2 305
1671 1185154 2 311
1682 1185159 2 679
1689 1185163 2 31
1695 1185166 2 497
1710 1185169 2 473
1722 1185178 1 511
1750 1185178 1 535

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Mönchaltorf families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Mönchaltorf belongs to the Uster civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Uster
Bahnhofstrasse 17
8610 Uster

Tel: +41 44 944 72 21

email: zivilstandsamt@uster.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Mönchaltorf prior to 1875:

Baumgartner
Brunner
Dahl (1837, from Germany)
Diggelmann
Egli (1826, from Wetzikon)
Ehrsam
Grob
Hardmeier
Hess (1836, from Germany)
Homberger
Keller

Kessler (1847, from Galgenen)
Knüsli
Korrodi
Kunz
Müdespacher
Muggli
Nägeli
Pfister
Rüegg (1821, from Zell)
Scherrer

Schlumpf
Seiler
Stettbacher
Suremann
Tobler
Unverricht (1837, from
    Germany)
Walder
Weber
Zangger (from Egg)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 19:41.
  • This page has been accessed 474 times.