Mackworth, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Mackworth, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Mackworth, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mackworth, Derbyshire
All Saints Church, Mackworth Village, Derbyshire.jpg
All Saints Church, Mackworth Village, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Radbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Mackworth All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Markeaton and Markheaton.

MACKWORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 2¾ miles (W. N. W.) from Derby with the township of MarkEaton. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Mackworth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Mackworth All Saints (1611) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
  NONE
NONE   NONE
NONE   NONE
Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.


Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mackworth on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2015, at 13:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,402 times.